Voter's Choice

Your County

Will voting in your county change?

The Voter’s Choice Act authorizes the following 14 California counties the opportunity to implement the new voting process in 2018: Calaveras, Inyo, Madera, Napa, Nevada, Orange, Sacramento, San Luis Obispo, San Mateo, Santa Clara, Shasta, Sierra, Sutter, and Tuolumne.

To date, the following counties have decided to implement the Voter’s Choice Act in 2018. Click on any county’s name to be directed to their elections website for county-specific information:


The following authorized counties will not be participating in 2018:

  • Orange
  • Calaveras
  • Inyo
  • Tuolomne
  • Santa Clara
  • Shasta
  • Sierra
  • San Luis Obispo
  • Sutter


Other counties will be eligible to participate starting in 2020.

Los Angeles County, which is authorized by law to implement the Voter’s Choice Act slightly differently from other counties, is expected to make the shift in 2020. Unlike other counties, Los Angeles County will only be sending vote-by-mail ballots to voters who are registered as permanent vote-by-mail voters or who specifically ask for a vote-by-mail ballot. Voters who do not receive a vote-by-mail ballot can go to any vote center to vote in-person. As in other counties, some vote centers in Los Angeles will be open 11 consecutive days.

California’s Secretary of State, Alex Padilla, is leading the effort to implement the VCA throughout California. His website includes useful information and regular updates.

Font Resize